The Struggles of Running a Club

This week has felt incredibly long, the ups and down I experience every week makes each week I feel like its own little book.
Lucky each Friday I have something to look forward too after school. Glee Club. Yes, the magical time after school I relish when everyone leaves the school except for the joyous members that make up the club.
“Extreme Booty Camp Week 4” started today and well, I was far from celebratory. The slacking, shady, slouchy glee members made trying to dance to the song “Don’t Stop Believing” impossible. We’ve been working on two songs for 4 months and we’ve haven’t gotten that far. Our performance is in two weeks and I don’t know how we’re going to pull this together. And I can’t even blame the members anymore, as the leader I need to take charge and make some tough calls. I can’t have any and everybody chilling in the big room while we rehearse. I have to be strict about attendance, and I have to do something I’d never though I’d do: get rid of glee members. It has to be done for the greater good, and as next week rises up I’m apprehensive to see how everyone is going to react.
I already feel like some people don’t like me for the ideas I briefly told them, some may even hate me. But I guess that’s the cost of leadership.

~Frazier

Leave a Reply

