Hope conquers Fear

I had a bit of worrying today. So I’m a finalist for the Gates schoalrship which entails a full tuition scholarship to wherever I want. I was so excited, it’s like my hope of actually being able to go to NYU if I get in. Being a finalist I had to get a lot of forms from Jamie, one of them being my GPA form. I have a 3.6 (B+) and although my friends keep telling me that’s good, I know I’m competing against a lot of smarts kids who probably have 4.0 (A+) and up. I just feel like this is a blemish on my record. It’s just that, this opportunity means so much, it literally will decide a huge part of my future and I wanted everything to be as perfect as it could be. I kinda wish our school gave GPAS from the beginning of our high school careers, so when we actually get our GPAS senior year we aren’t all surprised at what we get. I guess I would of tried harder to have as close as a 4.0 as I could have.
Regardless, there’s nothing I can do about it and I’m going to pray that God makes a way for me to afford where I want to go rather I get the scholarship or not. Also I’m going to stop worrying and just leave it all to Him. Tymoni, a friend of mine told me:
“You do a lot ontop of your studies and besides you made it this far in the competition you’ll make it” [PP]. Her words were true, but the sprits of worry and fear are so invasive and so leech-like, that at times I can’t help but fall victim to these sins. God says “Do not fear” 365 times in the bible. One reminder for each day. I fall to worry/fear a lot, but now I see why God reminds us so many times. We are all weak in spirit and need his encouragement, his word, and reminders to keep us on the straight and narrow.

Blog readers, rather you pray or not, please speak positivity and life over my college/financial situations.

For God says, “Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof” (Proverbs 18:21).

~Frazier

Leave a Reply

